DC Intern Success Story: Johnathan Lozier with Women In Government

Johnathan Lozier came to Washington, DC in the summer of 2008 as a participant in the Institute on Business and Government Affairs (IBGA). During this time he interned with the Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers.

He is now the Senior Program and Outreach Associate for Women In Government. Women In Government is a non-profit, non-partisan organization for all female state legislators across the country. They provide educational resources, expert forums, networking and leadership opportunities for women who are elected to state legislatures. He credits his first DC internship in helping to prepare him for his current position.

1. How do you feel being an intern in Washington, DC prepared you for the position you’re in now?

My internship experience set the bar for me. I wanted an experience that would teach me the ways of Washington so I could be better prepared when I took the leap to find a career path in DC. I not only gained that insight, but I made lifelong friends, mentors and professional contacts that I am still in touch with four years later.

The positions I’ve held since leaving DC the first time have been ones that have shaped me into who I am today. All giving me something different to carry onto the next and making me a more valuable asset to my current and future employers.

2. Tell us a little bit about your current position; what is a typical day like for you?

As the Senior Program and Outreach Associate, I serve as the primary contact for legislators from around the country, recruiting them for initiatives and conferences. I am responsible for our outreach/communications portfolio and creating new program initiatives.

 Women In Government focuses on health, tax/finance, energy, environment, education and advocacy issues, so my day is mostly made up of speaking with state legislators. Essentially, we provide them with policy research and host meetings where experts speak on the issues they are dealing with.

3. What is your favorite part of your job?

Working with both Republicans and Democrats! It’s rare when someone can do that and I get to it every day—I think I am one of the few individuals in Washington who are still able to do so.

The legislators I work with make my job awesome. They each deal with issues that are important to not only them personally, but to their constituents, so it gives me a broad view on issues from all around the country. No two days are alike, keeping me on my feet.

4. Do you have any words of wisdom for current and potential DC interns?

It is what you make of it! I encourage you to do anything and everything possible while interning in Washington. Be the eager person who wants to make a name for yourself, but do it strategically, always be genuine and be yourself. I can honestly say that I made the best of my time in Washington and, for that, I am not only a better person, but I am proud of who I am. You should do the same!

For more information about Women In Government, please visit: http://womeningovernment.org/.  To learn more about the Institute on Business and Government Affairs and to begin an online application, please visit www.DCinternships.org/IBGA.

Leave a Reply

