As Summer Ends, DC Interns Reflect on Their Time in DC

The end is approaching for many internships here in DC, and with it, interns from across the globe will have the opportunity to reflect on the experiences they’ve had this summer.  Here is a brief spotlight on five DC interns who have truly embraced all that comes along with working in the heart of our nation’s capital:

Manon, TiannaTianna Mañón
Institute on Political Journalism

A rising junior at the Rochester Institute of Technology, Tianna Mañón is working towards a dual major in journalism and political science, with minors in both urban studies and writing studies.  This summer, Tianna has been interning with The Hill, a daily congressional newspaper that focuses on business and lobbying, as well as political campaigns and other events on Capitol Hill.  “Everything I ever thought of myself was confirmed this summer,” she explained.  “I know for sure that political reporting is what I love and that I have to live in DC … I really want to give back to other reporters who are just starting, like so many did for me when I first got here.”

Virden, KatherineKatherine (Kate) Virden
Institute on Business and Government Affairs

Kate Virden is entering her junior year at Oregon State University, where she is majoring in English, with a minor in French.  This summer Kate interned with the Satellite Broadcasting and Communications Association, utilizing her writing and public relations skills.  “This internship has provided me with an amazing springboard into my future.  I learned an incredible amount about myself, my country, and the world.  I’ve loved meeting new people and networking every step of the way.” she said.  Her most stand-out memory of the summer?  Meeting Oregon Congressman Greg Walden on the steps of the Capitol!

DiFrancesco, PasqualePasquale DiFrancesco
Institute on Comparative Political and Economic Systems

With two years left at Allegheny College in Pennsylvania, Pasquale DiFrancesco is majoring in political science and environmental studies.  During his summer, Pat interned with the North American Association for Environmental Education, where he helped the organization work towards its mission of promoting excellence in environmental education and increasing both the visibility and effectiveness of the profession.  When he wasn’t meeting MVP Orioles baseball players out in Baltimore, he was taking advantage of this opportunity for “self-investment.”  As he explained, “This summer was truly a self-investment – an investment in my character as an individual, my education, my ability to problem solve and, most importantly, to empathize with viewpoints I may not have always held on my own.”

Braunstein, ArielAriel Braunstein
Institute on Economics and International Affairs

Ariel Braunstein is a junior Arabic and Islamic Studies major at Villanova University, where she is also working towards minors in business and Spanish.  This summer, Braunstein interned with the World Justice Project, an organization that “leads the global movement to strengthen the rule of law for the development of communities of opportunity and equity.”  Outside of working and studying, she most enjoyed a visit to the CIA and notes that it was an experience she’ll never forget.  “My experience in DC this summer was more than I could have ever expected.” she began.  “My internship opened some very important doors for me, and I made friendships that I’m sure will last a lifetime.  I wouldn’t trade anything for the past eight weeks.”

Rogers, AllanAllan Rogers
Institute on Philanthropy and Voluntary Service

As a rising senior at Connecticut College, Allan Rogers majors in government. Rogers has been interning with Mentors, Inc.  “My favorite Washington memory has been working with the Mentors, Inc. staff and being able to give back to the DC community through youth development.  I’ve also been able to grow as an individual through the experiences I have had and the people I have met.” Rogers noted.  He participated in a multitude of different events this summer – from attending a briefing at the World Bank to helping in the organization of a book sale for a local charity.  It was through these opportunities that Rogers says he now better understands what he wants to do with his life, both as a professional and someone who can impact the world for the better.

Leave a Reply

