Carrying on the Tradition: Alumna Shares her DC Experience

Written by Joe Starrs, Director of U.S. Programs and the Institute on Political Journalism 

When Courtney Roberts enrolled in the Institute on Political Journalism last January, she told me she was considering going to law school, but was also very interested in public relations. I secured her an internship in the communications department of one of DC’s most prestigious law firms, Steptoe & Johnson LLP.

Like most IPJ students, Courtney jumped in with both feet and made the most of her summer. She shared her DC experience with fellow students at Baylor by writing a blog post on the school’s website.

Please read the excerpt below to learn more about Courtney’s experience with the Institute on Political Journalism in Washington, DC.

Croberts

Interning in Washington, DC
By Courtney Roberts

     “You know when you’re a child, and you think, “I can’t wait until I’m [a certain age] when I’ll have everything all figured out?” Well, that was me at almost every stage of life. I thought that when I arrived at college, I’d have a 4.0 every semester, join every club and organization that I wanted to, manage a perfectly balanced schedule and succeed at everything I did.

I wish I could say that happened! Adjusting to the demands of college life has been difficult, but I can say beyond a doubt that Baylor University has blessed me in so many ways. I’ve honestly had the time of my life at Baylor, and Baylor has given me several great opportunities that have shaped who I am today.

One of those, (and probably my favorite so far) was a summer journalism internship in Washington, DC. I found The Fund for American Studies internship program through the Baylor journalism department. The Fund for American Studies, or TFAS, as we call it, has five institutes under its umbrella. I was in the Institute on Political Journalism…

I interned in the communications department at a law firm, Steptoe & Johnson LLP, and attended summer classes at George Mason University. When I wasn’t at Steptoe or in class, my friends and I were out exploring the city, biking to historic landmarks, meeting professionals in our field for coffee dates, or shopping in Georgetown. TFAS insured that we attended briefings at places like Capitol Hill and the State Department, heard lectures from some of DC’s brightest, and made plenty of friends in the field along the way… After this summer, I can say that I’m more confident, determined, and ready to see what the next step is.”

If you are interested in spending time in DC, come LIVE. LEARN. and INTERN. with us. Visit http://www.DCinternships.org for more information!

 

 

Leave a Reply

